Skip to the main content
Not stated · California

Sacramento Municipal Utility District and your EV charger

Sacramento Municipal Utility District offers 1 electric vehicle (EV) program in California that we have verified against its own published terms, listed below with the amount, the funding status and the date we checked. Sacramento Municipal Utility District also has 2 verified programs that pay toward the electrical work a charger install requires — the panel, the circuit, or a device that lets you skip the upgrade. 1 of them is income-qualified only. They are listed below as separate line items and are deliberately not added to the charger figures: a panel rebate and a charger rebate buy different work.

Federal listing checked 2026-08-25

Sacramento Municipal Utility District EV programs in California: amount, who qualifies, funding status and date checked
ProgramTypeWho qualifiesAmountStatusCheckedSource
Charge@HomeEV charger rebateResidential$600Open2026-09-04smud.org
EV Charger and Installation for Income-Eligible Customers (EAPR)Electrical work, toward the wiringResidential; income-qualified only100% of cost, no published capOpen2026-08-20smud.org
Circuit Sharing / Energy Management Device rebateElectrical work, toward a load-management device instead of a panel upgradeResidential$200Open2026-08-20smud.org

Verified programs

Charge@Home$600
Open
Who qualifies · 2 conditions
  • SMUD residential electric customer
  • Purchased or leased a plug-in EV
VerifiedLast checked 2026-09-04smud.org
Also from Sacramento Municipal Utility District · Toward the electrical work the install requires

A charger quote is really a charger-plus-electrical quote, and this is money for the second half — the panel, the circuit, or a device that lets you avoid the upgrade. Every figure is a maximum under the sponsor’s own terms, not an amount anyone is guaranteed, and none of it is added to the charger rebates above: they pay for different work and are applied for separately.

toward the wiring
EV Charger and Installation for Income-Eligible Customers (EAPR)100%of cost, no published cap

Income-qualified only. Enrolled in or qualifying for SMUD's Energy Assistance Program Rate (EAPR). EAPR is SMUD's own low-income rate program, not a state AMI test — recorded as stated rather than translated to an AMI percentage, since SMUD's own page did not state one.

Open
Who qualifies · 4 conditions
  • Single-family homeowner
  • Enrolled in or qualifying for SMUD's Energy Assistance Program Rate (EAPR)
  • Owns or leases a plug-in electric vehicle
  • Panel upgrades are NOT covered under this program
VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20smud.org
toward a load-management device instead of a panel upgrade
Circuit Sharing / Energy Management Device rebate$200
Open
Who qualifies · 3 conditions
  • SMUD residential electric customer
  • Device must appear on SMUD's Qualified Product List
  • Installed as an alternative to a panel upgrade for EV charging
VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20smud.org

Conditions are quoted from each program’s own published terms as we read them on the date shown. Meeting them is what makes an application eligible; it is not an approval, and a utility can apply requirements it does not publish.

Listed by the Department of Energy

  • EV Time-of-Use (TOU) Rate
  • EV Managed Charging Program
  • EV Level 2 Charging Station Purchase Rebate
  • EV Direct Current (DC) Fast Charging Station Purchase Rebate

Names as published by the Alternative Fuels Data Center, checked 2026-08-25. The federal listing carries no amounts; the figures above come from Sacramento Municipal Utility District's own published terms.

Questions about Sacramento Municipal Utility District in California

How much is the Sacramento Municipal Utility District EV charger rebate in California?

For residential customers, Sacramento Municipal Utility District's Charge@Home in California is $600 (Open, checked 2026-09-04).

Is the Sacramento Municipal Utility District EV charger rebate still available in California?

Yes. Sacramento Municipal Utility District's Charge@Home in California: Open, checked 2026-09-04 against Sacramento Municipal Utility District's own published terms.

Where the federal credit went

There is no federal EV charger tax credit for equipment placed in service after June 30, 2026. Section 30C was terminated by section 70504 of Public Law 119-21. Any quote or article that nets a federal credit against your cost today is out of date — which is most of them.

Utility’s own page: https://www.smud.org/en/Going-Green/Electric-Vehicles/Residential#main-content


Price the install for your address

Whatever Sacramento Municipal Utility District does or does not pay, the install cost is driven by your panel, the run and the permit. Model it in a couple of minutes.