Skip to the main content

EV charger installation in Florida: cost, rebates and permits

Florida is one of the few states where the electric vehicle (EV) charger rebate answer genuinely changes with your address: the state is split between two large investor-owned utilities, at least four municipal systems and several rural cooperatives, and they do not offer the same thing. The federal charger credit ended June 30, 2026, so the utility layer is now the only meaningful money on a Florida home install.

Federal credit status verified 2026-08-13. Utility-level figures below carry their own dates.

Registered electric vehicles
254,878

Second-highest state total in the country. Data is roughly two and a half years old and predates the end of the federal purchase credits.

EV share of the light-duty fleet
1.7%

Below the national leaders — California ran 4.6% on the same measure.

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-13US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center

Why Florida has more than one answer

Most states can be summarised with one utility name. Florida cannot. An investor-owned utility covers a large share of the peninsula, a second covers a separate region, several cities own their own electric systems outright, and rural cooperatives fill the gaps between them. Those four kinds of utility are governed differently, funded differently and make incentive decisions independently, so two households twenty minutes apart can face different programs, different application processes and different answers to the question of whether any money exists at all. That is the reason this state gets city pages rather than one page.

The federal charger credit has ended

There is no federal tax credit for an EV charger installed today — for a home or for a business. Public Law 119-21 moved the termination of the Section 30C Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit to June 30, 2026, and both halves of it ended on that date: the 30% residential credit capped at $1,000 per port, and the business credit of 6% (30% with prevailing wage and apprenticeship) capped at $100,000 per item. The separate Section 30D and 25E clean-vehicle credits ended for deliveries after September 30, 2025.

No longer availableLast checked 2026-08-13
Duke EnergyInvestor-owned
Off-Peak Charging Credit
Open
$7.5/mo

ongoing bill credit, not an install rebate

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-31
Electrification Rebate Program — EV Charging Infrastructure (business/commercial)
Open
$850

per port · Capped at $30,800.

VerifiedLast checked 2026-09-04
Sharp EnergyNot stated
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Home EV Chargers (KUA Home EV Charger program)
Open
$200

per location

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20
EV Purchase or Lease Rebate
Open
$200
VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20
Drive Smart (commercial EVSE pilot rebate)
Status not confirmed
$5,000

per port

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-31
Florida Power & LightInvestor-owned
FPL EVolution Home
Open
Verified — no rebate figure

$27–$36/mo, what you pay — a subscription, not a rebate

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
SECO Smart Connect — Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Program
Open
$7/mo

ongoing bill credit, not an install rebate

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
SECO EnergyNot stated
SECO Smart Connect — Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Program
Open
$7/mo

ongoing bill credit, not an install rebate

VerifiedLast checked 2026-08-20
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified
Not yet verified

State-level programs

We have not completed a verified review of Florida state-sponsored charger incentives. Rather than repeat what aggregators say, this section stays empty until a primary source and a check date exist for each program. Federal and utility layers above are complete to the dates shown.

Right to charge in condominiums and HOAs

Whether a Florida association can prevent a resident from installing a charger at their own expense is a statutory question with a real answer, and it is the single most valuable state-level fact for anyone in a condominium. We have not yet verified the current statute text and citation, so we make no claim here. This section is first in the state research queue.

Who is allowed to do the work

Electrical contractor licensing in Florida is administered at the state level, with some categories registered locally. We have not yet verified the current board name, licence classes or the public lookup URL, so this section carries no specifics. Ask any installer for their licence number and verify it yourself against the issuing authority — that advice does not depend on us finishing this research.

Which electrical code applies

Florida adopts a statewide building code on a revision cycle, and local jurisdictions may add amendments. Which edition is in force materially changes the requirements on an EV circuit. We publish the adopted edition per city rather than per state, because the amendments are where the surprises live.

What drives installed cost in Florida

Two factors show up repeatedly in Florida scopes and neither is unique to one city. Outdoor equipment within a few miles of the coast faces salt-air corrosion, which pushes installers toward enclosures and hardware rated for it. Central Florida's lightning density makes surge protection on the charger circuit a routine rather than an optional line item. Both are real cost drivers; neither is a substitute for a local quote.


0

Cities on the record

No city in this state has cleared the publish gate. The state-level record above does not depend on them — it is written to stand on its own.


5

In research

These cities are still being researched. Each moves up when it clears every check on the publish gate; where we have started a record, its page lists exactly which checks are outstanding.

  • Sarasota8 checks outstanding
  • Lakeland8 checks outstanding
  • TallahasseeMunicipal utility confirmed, program and permit desk not yet researched.
  • GainesvilleMunicipal utility confirmed, program and permit desk not yet researched.
  • NaplesUtility territory resolved, permit authority not yet sourced.

Some Florida markets are deliberately absent from this atlas because another site in our portfolio already covers them. That exclusion is permanent and is enforced in the city generator, not left to editorial judgement.


Get your own range for this address

Instant estimate
1/16

What will my EV charger installation cost?

Start with what you are charging. A garage wall and a twelve-port depot have nothing in common but the wizard.

A licensed installer confirms your final price on site.

Which electric utility serves my address in Florida?

It depends on the address, not the ZIP code — ZIP codes are mail routes and routinely straddle utility boundaries. Florida is served by two large investor-owned utilities, several city-owned municipal systems and a number of rural cooperatives. Your bill names your utility, and it is the only reliable answer. Our city pages list every serving utility in the city rather than picking one.

Is there a Florida state rebate for an EV charger?

We have not verified one, and we are not going to publish a figure we have not checked against a primary source. What we can say with confidence is that the federal Section 30C credit terminated on June 30, 2026, so any proposal that assumes a federal credit on a charger installed today is wrong.